Mapping

I have been working on making three dimensional models using a cut out of an OS map structure an idea I came up with due to putting the matchstick models on square bases.  These grid structures represent 1km on every map and also are the tools used for Nasa mapping planets which ties in with my theme of the unexpected journey.

img029 img034

I was hoping to create an object or structure that would show the contrast between the grid structures of maps to the organic forms that are apparent in our landscape. I made this with wooden balsa wood sticks, kappa board and paper strips. The Kappa would represent the map representing the order and structure but also how we believe a place to be like before we visit it. The flowing paper strips would then represent how we think and feel about the landscape when we are there like natural contours, the rises and dips in the landscape.

1083

Leave a comment