Brochs

I chose to base my second object on brochs. Large dry stone hollow buildings located in the north of Scotland along the cost.

images (1)

Brochs have no stated purpose but there are many different theories, my belief is that they were old castles, defensive buildings that were built after the roman invasion that pushed them up north.

Initially I am very interested in the mark that they have left upon the landscape as many are now ruins. I have many options with this project as brochs prompts so many questions and I wonder why they were built where they are? Why the conical hollow shape? What purpose did they have?

img038 img039

 

Leave a Reply

